Day 358:  Here and There

It looks like somewhere along the way I managed to misplace about seven days. I only know this because Facebook helpfully reminded me with a memory about relaxing after a long week. 

And I remember exactly why that week was so long. 

We were on the verge of settling into a groove, and although it could have been much worse, it was not exactly ideal. A long commute, unreasonable work expectations, and unfulfilling cases for HW, and a lot of frustration for me. I felt like we were in the process of making choices that would establish patterns that would last for at least the next eight years, and I wasn’t sure I liked how those patterns were coming together, but it didn’t seem like there were any other options. Keeping our heads down, working hard, and making the best of things seemed like the fact best solution. 

A wise man once told me that when we are faced with a difficult or unfulfilling situation, it’s wise to make small changes. That’s what I intended to do. I bought a gym membership, studied for the bar, planted a garden, and made an effort to expand our group of friends.  I started a garden, found new activities and areas to explore, and HW and I had long talks about managing stress together. 

And then something happened that completely turned our lives upside down, and we’ve spent the past year adjusting to a new climate, state, city, education system, and life. 

I think about where we are now and where we were a year ago and I can’t imagine, even with a lot of little changes, that things would be better there than they are here. I’m biased, obviously, and there are definitely things I miss about where we were, but I had no idea anything like this even existed, and I’m so glad we found it. 

Leave a comment