Day 402: Back to School B*tches

I know, that’s a bad word.  Is it a word we’ve taken back yet?  I think I read something about trying to take it back.  I’m not sure why we would want to take it back.  It really is an ugly word, Kimmy Schmidt’s good point aside, and if someone ever used it about one of my daughters I would definitely see red.

Still, I can’t think of a better word to describe these women.

I know, I’m a bad feminist.  It’s probably not their fault, it’s the men in their lives, the oppressive system they struggle against, blah, blah, blah.  I’m sure all of that is true, but they are still miserable bitches, and there is no (good) reason for it.

Most of the time I can ignore it, especially when it’s directed at me (I can imagine 10,000 reasons why a stranger might be “justified” in not liking me – more on that some other time), but when it’s directed at other people, sometimes it’s too much.  I tend to notice it the most at the beginning and the end of the school year, maybe because I’m paying better attention, or maybe because there is more of it, but it happens every year.

I’ve seen it in three different states now, and it’s interesting to think about similarities and differences between schools.  I tend to think whichever version I am currently dealing with is the most obnoxious, but it’s impossible to say if one is objectively better or worse than another, and they are all terrible.

This is what I’m going to do to make it better, or to at least try to not make it worse.  I’m going to cut everyone a little bit of slack.  I’m going to try to understand that going back to school is stressful for everyone, and maybe it brings up insecurity issues, and we are all fighting invisible battles, and we could all use a little bit of compassion.  I’m going to bite my tongue and nod and smile, not because I want to be fake or pretend, but because getting involved will not do any good, and will only make everyone more unhappy.  I will make an effort to not only be nice to everyone, but to go out of my way to be friendly and offer a smile, even if I’m having a shit day myself.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

