Day 361: Give Your Child the World Summer Book Club

I stumbled upon this summer book club activity (I wish I knew whom to credit), and today was our first day. The program is based on the book, Give Your Child the World, which I found on Amazon and had in two days, and the activities and participation are free of charge. This is the website: http://simplehomeschool.net/read-the-world/

Note: I have not been paid or asked to write about this book or program. I don’t even know the people who put it together and I do not follow their blogs or websites. I found it and thought it would be fun to do with the kids, and that other people might like to do it, or at least read about the chaos that ensues when we do it. 

Today we explored two new libraries and made sure each child has his or her own library card. This was an even more exciting process than I imagined. We had some success finding books on the list, but several were at other branches and a few were not available at all.  If your children are not particularly patient in these situations and you value your sanity, I recommend calling ahead or checking online.  

I selected books for this week (multicultural) and next week (Africa). I might order one or two to keep, and I plan to supplement with a few of our own books and atlases. 


Over dinner we talked about our meal as an example of multiculturalism (rice and beans with garlic, onions, peppers, tomatoes, mangoes, turmeric, avocados, and de mano cheese) and we made it through half of our pile of literature before the youngest kids started to lose interest. I also ordered a sing along album from iTunes (Putumayo Kids World Sing Along). We haven’t listened yet, but we have other albums from the collection and love them all. 

Don’t worry, we are not cramming knowledge down the throats of our little angels. We are making this about fun activities and games, and we are definitely ignoring the reward program system. None of this is designed to make them remember details about other cultures (I’m sure they will), but about showing how fun and interesting it can be to learn about how other people do things, and that people are different and come from different backgrounds, but we also have a lot in common. 

We’ll see how the next eight weeks go. 

Leave a Reply

