Day 304: On Bernie Sanders

If ever there was proof required to demonstrate I have no plans, present or future, to run for office, this is it.

I really can’t stand any of the candidates, except for one, and his name is Bernie Sanders.  There.  I said it.  Dreams about Larry David stealing my vacuum pennies aside, he seems, to me, like a good and genuine person who believes what he says.

I think that in real life, we could probably be friends.  He would be someone I could maybe invite to dinner and introduce to my children.

That’s the truth.

This is why I won’t vote for him.

  1.  I don’t believe more government is the answer.
  2. His abortion rhetoric is extremely troubling.

I agree with much of what he says about big businesses, banks, the struggles of the working class and the poor.  I just don’t believe a larger federal government is the solution.  Have you ever been to the DMV?  That’s not even the federal government (although they have their hands in it, and they definitely make it worse).  That’s just the state.  But seriously.  Have you ever had to deal with the federal government?  Have you ever been active duty military?  Not a good scene.  It’s like the worst of telephone customer service and Wal-Mart.

It’s too big.  Too inefficient.

Look, I don’t know what works or doesn’t work in Sweden or Norway, but things are different here.  The United States is a huge (not YUGE, huge) country, in many ways, and one large central government, even with advances in technology, just isn’t a good solution.  I’m not saying we should break up, or the federal government should have no power at all, I’m just saying I’m not convinced that they should be the people we trust with everything.  They are just so inefficient and slow and maybe even corrupt.  It’s not a model I’m comfortable with.  That’s the bottom line.

I do agree that changes need to be made.  Education needs to be more of a priority in this country.  People should have access to quality healthcare.  Women need to be treated better in the workplace, and at home, and everywhere else they happen to wander.  Children need to be a priority.  We need to remember how to love.

I think we need someone in charge who believes all of that, but also someone who trusts us to believe it too.

I read a post someone put up earlier today about how France forced grocery stores to give expired food to the hungry.  I get it, on first glance I thought, “Wow, that’s awesome!” and in one sense, it definitely is (some people who are hungry have more access to food=good).  But wouldn’t it be better if the government didn’t have to force stores to do that, because consumers just wouldn’t shop at grocery stores who wouldn’t participate in programs like that?  Or, I don’t know, grocery stores just decided to do it, because they believed in doing the right thing?  There was a grocery store that refused to do that where I grew up.  One of my teachers and I refused to shop there.  I still won’t set foot in that store.  It didn’t mean anything to anyone but us, but if we had convinced the rest of the town to join us, I have to imagine they would have made some changes.

And that’s basically how I feel about a lot of things.  Yes, as I said, we need someone at the top who is open and willing to encourage and facilitate these changes, but we don’t need someone who is going to force them on roughly half of the population.

I’m not going to get too into the abortion piece.  That is what it is.  But whether you identify as pro-life or pro-choice, it’s important to recognize that abortion is not an ideal option for anyone, and it’s not something that ought to be tossed around like a casual visit to the dentist.  This is another area where I think changes need to come from the rest of us, the way we treat women, children, and men.

That’s my two cents on Bernie Sanders.  Also, it doesn’t bother me at all that Pope Francis met with him.  In fact, I said an extra Hail Mary hoping PF would convince him to see things my way.  I’ll probably say another tonight.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

