Day 278: Keeping My Sense of Humor on April Fools (But Not Really, Right)

Full disclosure: I’m extremely naive.  Laughably naive, if you’re not me.  I try not to be, I pretend not to be, and it’s something I don’t appreciate about myself. It’s something my father had great fun with when I was a child and teenager. Actually, it didn’t strike me that there was really anything wrong with that until he started telling stories about how gullible I am to a guy I was dating, who became extremely offended on my behalf. The guy turned out to be a complete nightmare, but I’ll take my wins where I can find them. 

Anyway, I’m gullible. I get it. I’m pretty smart, sometimes I take myself too seriously, so it’s fun to give me shit. But I have my limits. 

Jokes about a Monopoly game I allegedly cheated at when I was six (according to two people I consider to be pathological liars), that you heard about from someone who heard about it from them just aren’t funny twenty-three years later in large groups of people, where the implication is that I’m a dishonest person. I’m a lot of things and I make a lot of mistakes, but even I think “dishonest” is an absurd claim. 

The posts about Trader Joe’s closing, I get it, funny to think about people panicking and stockpiling their two buck chuck. Except, maybe for the employee who relies on that paycheck and had a mini-heart attack. The pretend posts about kicking a member out of a Facebook group for bad behavior, maybe not so funny for a new mom, living without sleep for the first time and clinging to any kind of support system she can find. 

I don’t want to be one of those people. I really don’t. I’ve been one of those people in the past. Everything serious, all the time, until all suffering in the world is eradicated. That’s no way to live. 

Still, as I look around me today I think we would all do well to take an extra moment before we watch the new Star Wars movie (No? Just me?) and think about how our actions might impact other people. Like my five year old says, “It’s more important to be kind than to be funny.”

Amen to that, little mans. 

Leave a Reply

