Day 213: More Things I Like

I don’t have much to report, so I thought I would write down a few more things I like.  If some of these are a repeat, sorry.  And no, I am not receiving any form of compensation for my thoughts, for my feelings, or for expressing them.

Food and Wellness Blogs:

I have found a handful of food and wellness blogs.  Sometimes when I want a recipe, I just google that recipe and sometimes add “real food” or “whole living” or even just “healthy.”  I also have a few favorites.

Wellness Mama is one of my favorites.  She covers a variety of topics, all related to healthy living, and she also has a million kids, so I feel a kinship of some sort.  I first heard about our Berkey water filter in one of her posts, I love her zucchini lasagna recipe (and several others), and I think her advice about essential oils is very good.  In general, she seems to have a reasonable approach based on her own experiences and science, and I like that.  Lately I have seen a lot more posts encouraging readers to buy one specific thing, and that’s not my favorite, but I think her website is still a great resource.

I will still occasionally look at 100 Days of Real Food too, although I would say I have some of the same frustrations with that website (not that I don’t understand that bloggers have to make a living, but there comes a point where it comes across as too commercial, and not about sharing experiences and helping other people).  I love the sour cream and onion chicken salad, and the lemon-raspberry muffins remain a top favorite.

Recently I discovered a blog, actually on Instagram, called Maya Kitchenette, and I’ve found a few recipes I love there too.  I’m going to try the Thai Coconut soup this week, and it looks like there are a lot of other great options.

Speaking of new recipes, I found this recipe for vegan pancakes, and it is a new favorite in our house.  Actually, the house is split.  HW and our oldest son say they are better than the old version (using Pamela’s baking and pancake mix, our pancake mix of choice for four years), our daughters prefer the old version, and the baby will eat basically anything. These pancakes are a little bit more work than Pamela’s, and I found the recipe because I ran out of the mix, but they are delicious.  Word of caution, if you use coconut oil, the batter can turn out a bit thin, which is not great for flipping.  Also, when it says one TABLEspoon of baking powder, that is not a typo.  I plan to explore that website for more recipes when I have some time.

Oh, and we made homemade pasta again today.  We added Rao’s (making my own sauce is a bridge too far at this moment in time), fresh parmesan (not quite as much as it looks like in the photo), and pesto we bought from one of our favorite vendors at the farmer’s market.  It was delicious.

IMG_4528.JPG

Technology:

Our oldest daughter got a Polaroid camera for her birthday, and it’s a big hit.  It’s easy to use, rechargeable, durable, and not very expensive.  The younger kids love to “help” and carry around the photos like they are precious treasures.

The new version of the Polaroid camera is about as much as I know about technology, so…

Books:

I haven’t had a lot of time to read lately, and I doubt I will have time until March, or June, if HW’s work schedule remains as full as it is right now.

A friend suggested Wonder might be a good book for our oldest daughter, so we have been taking turns reading it to her, and it’s excellent.  We haven’t finished yet, but the story is real, the characters have depth, and I think it’s an opportunity to think about things a different way.  HW read the first few pages to her, and I’m glad, because it was all I could do not to sob all over myself, but I mentally prepare myself before I read, and so far I’ve managed to avoid making a scene.

Charity Projects:

I have written several posts about Carry the Future, but I’ll mention the organization again here.  Volunteers collect baby carriers and then travel to Greece to fit them to refugee families traveling with small children.  Volunteers, mostly moms with little ones of their own, or grown up little ones, ask friends and family to donate their gently-used soft-structured carriers, or to make a financial contribution to the cause, they pack up the carriers, get on a plane, and meet refugees as they get off the boats.  The temperatures have dropped there, just as they have here, and volunteers are reporting cases of frostbite in adults and children, so they are asking for hats, mittens, scarves, and wool socks, to help keep them warm as they travel across Europe.

I can’t say enough about this organization.  The people involved are amazing, dedicated, caring, kind, and supportive.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

