Day 128: Preparing for Halloween

I really am kind of a curmudgeon, or at least I was, until I had children and made efforts to change. No. On second thought. I still am a curmudgeon, even if my children never realize that until they read this post.

I’ve always liked Thanksgiving (which everyone knows, and that explains why it was the only holiday I had to split to be permitted to leave the state with my children), but the other holidays, at least the celebratory part (I’ve always appreciated Easter, just not so much the eggs and the bunnies, more the dying and the rising), never really did it for me. 

The kids love any excuse to celebrate, really, but they are especially enthusiastic about Easter, Christmas and Halloween (thankfully in that order). HW is a big, big fan of Christmas, and I will say, even if I have to be the one to say it, I think I have come a long way on that front, I would say embracing it with open arms even. 

I try with Halloween. The kids always have great costumes, we carve pumpkins (they rot quickly in 90 degree weather), we make and eat pumpkin seeds, and we celebrate by trick-or-treating and handing out candy and usually we have some kind of little family party. It really is quite lovely, and I enjoy it.

I have to admit though, I don’t really get it. It’s like Lena Dunham. I get it, I just don’t get it. 

It doesn’t make me outrageously or inexplicably mad or disgusted, and I don’t love it in any objective sense. There are things I dislike, the creepy skeleton that lit up and shrieked at my two year old on our way to a kid’s birthday party for one, and I think people who get really into it are kind of strange, though not in a judgmental way, more like, “Hmm…that’s rather odd,” which may simply be an example of one of the many ways I have become out of touch and old, but I felt that way ten years ago, and twenty years ago. 

Don’t get me wrong. I’m going to put on my Chewbacca costume with a smile tomorrow, and I’m going to snap 500 photos of our beautiful children acting like maniacs in their costumes, and I am going to love every second. 

I just won’t understand what other people are smiling about. 

It’s like this one weird night when people kind of get a free pass to act and dress like idiots. That’s fine too, but maybe we could find a way to separate that from a celebration kids have? 

I’m just not really sure it makes sense to encourage kids to go from house to house, asking complete strangers for candy, on the same night society seems to take for granted that adults are going to make bad decisions. Then again, I think the idea of Santa Claus is absurd, and not in the smart and interesting way.

Also, if we are going to have a holiday about death, maybe we should have conversations about that. What is death? What do we believe happens after death? What do other people believe? 

I’ll have to think more about this. After I sleep.

Be kind, Friends. 

2 thoughts on “Day 128: Preparing for Halloween

Leave a Reply

