Day 103: More Things I Like

I am still working on the “woman blogger” post I started a few days ago.  I’m not sure using MindNode for writing was such a great idea, because although it is very fun to play with, my writing seems to be trying to cover too many things even more than it usually does.  It is a work in progress, and will hopefully be ready tomorrow.

Until then, here are a few more things I really like.

  1.  Spy.  We don’t watch a lot of movies around here (other than Star Wars), but we took a chance and rented this and were not disappointed.  HW tells me they are already writing a sequel, and I hope it’s as good.
  2. Ashby.  I know, another movie!  What is that, like every movie we’ve seen over the past six months?  Almost, let’s not forget about the unfortunate Aloha or The Overnight.  Having big names doesn’t make a movie good any more than simply being weird does.  I thought Ashby was great, and I already purchased the soundtrack.  We danced to it on the way to school this morning, and everyone approved (my children have excellent taste in music).
  3. The sound of wind through palm leaves.  It’s kind of like the sound of wind through regular trees, only better.
  4. Napping with my two year old.  We typically try to encourage our children to sleep on their own (sometimes that works better than others), but our family has had a lot of pretty big changes over the past few months, her especially.  Starting school for the first time, her older brother and best friend starting full-day school for the first time, potty “training,” moving to a new state, realizing the “baby” is as big as she is and is capable of taking her toys away, febrile seizures.  It’s a lot.  So when she started to really have separation anxiety at nap time, I thought it might be related to all of those changes, and the fact that normally she doesn’t sleep or nap without another child in the same room, and I started inviting her to nap with me on the couch.  She is actually napping next to me right now, and she is beautiful.  Her cheeks are just a little flushed, and her cheek is pressing up against her little shoulder.  She looks so peaceful and sweet.
  5. My body brush and face brush.  I can’t remember where I first read about this, but it was probably on one of several “whole life” or “natural living” websites.  You use the body brush before you shower (once or twice per week), making circles, starting at your feet and working toward your heart and you do the same thing with the face brush.  I wasn’t sure what it would do, but I’ve noticed a difference already.  I have fewer ingrown hairs when I shave my legs, and I use my exfoliating face mask less frequently, because I have fewer clogged pores on my face.  I use an all-natural bristle brush with a wood handle I found on Amazon, but I’m sure they are widely available.
  6. My big, dumb, loyal dog.  She is literally the best dog I have ever known (even though I’m still pretty mad about that time she tore up poop diapers and dragged them all over the house, and our youngest daughter will never forget the “mariposa” book she ate).  Right now she is curled up next to me, on the floor next to the couch, where she will probably stay, other than her frequent patrols, until we go to bed.  I know people have mixed feelings about German Shepherds, but she is so sweet.  Yesterday the baby figured out how to climb up on the couch and was about to fall.  Before I could get over there, our puppy was right in his face, licking him back from the edge.  Granted, he probably used her as a stepping stool to get onto the couch, but that’s not really her fault.
  7. A nice glass of wine.  Typically I prefer something sparkly and white.  There is just something civilizing and hopeful about a bubbly drink in a nice glass.
  8. Lightweight sweaters on the first days of cooler weather.  Around here “cooler weather” means seventy-four degrees in the morning, but cooler is a relative term.
  9. A giant bowl of cold grapes I don’t have to share with anyone.
  10. Watching the sunset with my husband after the children are in bed, if not asleep.  I like watching the sunset with our children too, and we will have many opportunities to do that in just a few days, but it’s nice to enjoy it, during the longer summer days, with HW.  In fact, I think I hear a sunset calling my name right now.
Leave a Reply

